KEPOS History

The idea of founding an enterprise for human resource development in the field of life science originated at the end of 2006 and derived from first contacts with Health Centers of the Helmholtz Community. The conception and start-up phase was drawn out for some time and after much discussion the time finally came when on July 9, 2008 the memorandum of association was notarized, and KEPOS GmbH was founded with the aim to provide temporary employment and career development for young scientists.

 

Shortly after the foundation, the Bundesagentur für Arbeit (German Labor Market Agency) granted its first permit to hire out employees and from September 2008 to July 2017 a number of scientists had been continuously employed with KEPOS GmbH, deployed in scientific institutions continuing their work or bridging time between two professional phases.

 

Since its foundation KEPOS has been developing continuously. Whilst at the beginning the focus was solely on university departments of life sciences and the corresponding non-university research institutions, other institutes and faculties of natural science quickly followed suit. Owing to today’s increased interdisciplinarity of big research projects not only the entire field of natural science and engineering are within our target group, but also more and more scientists from the humanities and social sciences revert to our offer.

 

To date, several thousand doctoral students have received impulses for a start into their professional life and over 1,000 post-docs were prepared for their step out of academic research. With the changes to the WissZeitVG (Act of Academic Fixed-Term Contract) in terms of a more consistent personel development the need for academic emloyee leasing no longer exists. Subsequently, KEPOS was dissolved as a GmbH (limited company) on July 1st, 2017 and continues as a network of experienced trainers and advisors with the focus on trainings, coachings and advising.

KEPOS Geschichte

Die ursprüngliche Idee eines Unternehmens für Personalentwicklung im Bereich Life Science entstand bereits Ende 2006 aus ersten Gesprächen mit Gesundheitszentren der Helmholtz Gemeinschaft. Heraus kam 2008 eine Unternehmensgründung mit Sitz im Frankfurter Innovationszentrum für Biotechnologie – später Umzug nach Mannheim – mit dem Ziel der Arbeitnehmerüberlassung und der Karriereentwicklung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern. Die notwendige Erlaubnis der Bundesagentur für Arbeit wurde erteilt und Wissenschaftler wurden seit September 2008 beschäftigt, um ihre Arbeit in der akademischen Forschung fortzusetzen oder Übergänge in andere Berufsabschnitte zu überbrücken.

 

Seit dieser Gründungsphase hat sich KEPOS in vielerlei Hinsicht weiterentwickelt. Waren zu Beginn die lebenswissenschaftlichen Fachbereiche von Universitäten und entsprechende außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen alleiniger Fokus, haben sich schnell andere naturwissenschaftliche Institute und Fachbereiche hinzugesellt. Und die zunehmende Interdisziplinarität großer Forschungsprojekte führte dazu, dass heute nicht nur der gesamte MINT-Bereich Zielgruppe ist sondern immer wieder auch Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaftler an angebotenen Formaten teilnehmen.

 

Mittlerweile konnten über 4.000 Doktoranden Impulse für den Start ins Berufsleben gewinnen und rund 1.000 Postdoktoranden ihren Schritt aus der akademischen Forschung vorbereiten. Aufgrund der letzten Veränderungen des Wissenschaftszeitvertragsgesetzes im Sinne einer konsequenteren Personalentwicklung gibt es keinen Bedarf mehr für eine Arbeitnehmerüberlassung von Wissenschaftlern. Konsequenterweise wurde KEPOS als GmbH zum 01.07.2017 aufgelöst und wird seitdem mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Trainings, Coachings und Beratungen als Netzwerk erfahrener Trainer und Berater weitergeführt.